Uganda to Host the ICC Men’s WT20 Qualifier: Africa Region in May 2019

Uganda to Host the ICC Men’s WT20 Qualifier: Africa Region in May 2019

In a memo released by Patricia Kamabarami, the ICC Development Manager, Africa region, Uganda has been selected to host the ICC Men’s World Twenty20 Qualifier.

Uganda hosted the ICC World Cricket League Division III in May 2017 with no glitch and it’s no surprise that the pearl has been selected as a host. Though the cricket cranes were not so successful on the field in the WCL Div 3, the team has fond memories of hosting the shortest format of the game after they defeated Namibia in 2011 in a pulsating final in Lugogo.

Six teams will compete at the 2019 ICC World Twenty20 Africa Regional Finals from 17th to 26th of May 2019 with Kenya, Uganda, Nigeria and Ghana already assured of the trip to Kampala, two other sides will join the four teams after the conclusion of the southern region

Along with a winner’s trophy that will be coveted by all six teams, the top two teams will progress to the 2020 ICC World Twenty20 Global Qualifier.

Coach Steve Tikolo and his charges will be looking to make home court advantage count on this occasion after having a terrible qualifiers in 2017.


More Articles

Featured Videos

More Videos
Watch the video

Most Popular

More Articles

By ALVIN BAGAYA Born to Hiyadat Shah and Meger Nigar in Gilgit Pakistan; 513km from Islamabd; the capital of Gilgit-Balistan region on 20th February 1998,...